Walton, Cedar

High Note, 2006CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 12.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Kool
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Pianist Cedar Walton is a living legend and he shows absolutely no signs of slowing down here. He gives us two dimensions on Time After Time. They open with two original compositions as a quartet including Vincent Herring (sax). Then they shift into high gear as a trio playing seven intense covers. Among the best are “Seven Minds” highlighted by a solo from bassist David Williams and “Little Sunflower”. Drummer Joe Farnsworth puts the sizzle in where required while Cedar once again simply gets the job done with a 1st class performance.


Publicist: Jazz Depot