eOne, 2020CD

Issue: 26.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Pop+Jazz
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 71
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Russ Freeman takes on a larger share of the Rippingtons new release playing all keyboards, guitars, bass, percussion and programming. He also composed and produced all of the music. Dave Karasony plays drums and Brandon Fields adds sax on three selections. There’s a heavy dose of electronics with a bit of a carnival theme on tunes like “Lost Highway” as the venerable smooth jazz band takes on the Open Road. There’s a touch of their characteristic funky jazz on “Before Sunrise”. Among the best of the rest are “She’s Got The Magic” and “Gran Via”.


Publicist: East West Media