Sung, Helen

Fresh Sound, 2021CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 27.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Bebop
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 82
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Pianist and composer Helen Sung assembles her band with David Wong (b), John Ellis (sax, fl) and Kendrick Scott (d) then takes it up a notch with the Harlem Quartet. Helen plays beautifully throughout the set and encourages her band mates to assert themselves as well. Melissa White (violin II) and Wong stand out on “Mary’s Waltz”, and Ilmar Gavilan (violin) shines on “Sungbird”. Our favorites are “Time Loops” and “Lament For Kalief Browder” featuring cellist Felix Umansky.


Publicist: D. L. Media