Soucy, Mathieu

Inner Bop, 2022CD
Instrument: Guitar

Issue: 28.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Bebop
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 76
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Young guitarist, composer Mathieu Soucy strikes a strong chord with Recollecting. He’s accompanied by Gentiane MG (p), Mike de Masi (b) and Jacob Wutzke (d). Caity Gyorgy adds voice notably on “Where or When” and “Thinker and A Fool”. De Masi does a fine job on “Turner Days”. But it’s all Soucy on “Reflections” and he takes the lead on several others like “Blues For Barry” trading with Wutzke. It’s a solid debut.


Publicist: Jazz Promo Services