Fischer, Jesse

ObliqSound, 2012CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 19.1

Jazz Ruler Type: R&B+Jazz
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: The title is a pretty good descriptor of this smooth jazz set pulling in some retro funk with a contemporary vibe that bodes well. Leader Jessie Fischer plays keyboards and composed 7 of 10 selections capturing his affinity for 1960-80s music and bringing to the future. Soul Cycle is Brian Hogans (sax), Jean Caze (t), Corey King (tb), David Linaburg (g), Solomon Banks (perc) and Gabriel Wallace (d). We found ourselves patting our feet more often than not on Retro Future preferring Jesse’s new grooves to the classics.


Publicist: D. L. Media