Belhaj, Alex

Alex Belhaj, 2014CD
Instrument: Guitar

Issue: 21.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Dixieland
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Alex Belhaj’s Crescent City Quartet is a traditional Dixie band sans drums. Sugar Blues is a collection of slow-mid tempo Old-fashioned New Orleans blues of the 1920s-30s. Ray Heiter plays clarinet and contributes vocals. Dave Kosmyna plays cornet and Jordan Schug rounds out the band on bass. This one let’s you relive swinging classics by Sidney Bechet, Clarence Williams, Jelly Roll Morton and others of the period. The arrangements and execution are on point.


Publicist: Jazz Promo Services