Hazeltine, David

Sharp Nine, 2002CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 8.3w

Jazz Ruler Type: Bebop
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4-
Performance Chart

Sound: 3+
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: David on piano, Peter Washington (b) and Louis Hayes (d) make up the classic trio. Eric Alexander is the guest on sax and he states his case from the opener, “On The Boulevard” whaling away on top of the solid rhythm section. The momentum builds on Eric’s“Hayes Phrase” before chilling on Stevie Wonder’s “Knocks Me Off My Feet”. But the heart of the session is the burners like “Our Delight” making this an intense, enjoyable meeting.