Modern Jazz Quartet

Prestige, 2003CD

Issue: 9.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Bebop
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: This four-disc set takes us through the Prestige and Pablo recordings of the legendary Modern Jazz Quartet from 1952 – 1982. Four men, John Lewis (p), Milt Jackson (vibes), Percy Heath (b) and Kenny Clarke (to 1955) or Connie Kay (1955 onwards) on drums. They worked together for 48 years and aged like a fine wine. You’ll hear this progression on the discs with the 4th being our favorite. But there is a tremendous amount of good music throughout. Modern jazz expanded the appeal of jazz to a broader and more sophisticated audience.