Justus Brothers

Memphis Internation, 2019CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 26.1

Jazz Ruler Type: R&B+Jazz
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 5
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score: 97
Score Chart

O’s Notes: The Justus Brothers are Pat Register (sax, fl), Dave Smith (b), Jason Clark (keyboards), Steve Potts (d) and co-producer, composer Niko Lyras (g). Percussionist Billy Ramirez joins the band as an honorary brother. They play nine killer, smooth jazz selections, both classics and fresh originals like the Latin tinged “Sabroso” and “Hip Pocket”, incorporating a lot of old-school Memphis groove. Among the best of the rest are “Chinese Checkers”, “King’s Strut”, “I Keep Forgetting” and “Garmen District” making the self titled debut a winner!


Publicist: Great Scott