Nice Guy Trio

Porto Franco Records, 2009CD
Instrument: Trumpet

Issue: 16.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Pop+Jazz
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: The Nice Guy Trio is Darren Johnston (t), Rob Reich (accordion) and Daniel Fabricant (b), an unusual combo that plays a wide variety of sounds. They get a little funky on “Apples” generating a larger sound than you’d expect from a trio thanks to the addition of Sameer Gupta playing tablas. “Simple Life” is a quaint sidewalk cafe tune revolving around Reich. We enjoyed the mellow tone of Johnston’s horn on “Woeful” and the Latin touch of “Ducci Calypso”. Special guest David Phillips (pedal steel) takes the lead on “Fables of Faubus”. This music is a change of pace and The Nice Guys deliver a tidy package!

The Nice Guy Trio - Here Comes... the Nice Guy TrioBUY NOW

Publicist: Terri Hinte