Marcus, Mitch

Jazz Cubed, 2007CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 13.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Avant Garde
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Mitch leads a quintet through seven original free jazz compositions. Sylvain Carton (as, ts), Ches Smith (d), George Ban-Weiss (b) and Michael Abraham (g) join Marcus (ts) who also wrote five of the tunes. Ches holds the rhythm together while the rest of the band explores their creativity. Abraham seems to be venting anger during his solo on “Inditranego”. Ben-Weiss packs a solid bass line on “G.C.” and “Not Then, But Now”. We preferred “The Joey Rubber Special” perhaps for it’s more traditional structure.


Publicist: Kari-On Productions