Walker, Joe Louis

Stony Plain, 2008CD
Instrument: Guitar

Issue: 15.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Kool
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Joe (g, vocals) teams up with Bruce Katz (p, organ), Jon Ross (b), Mark Teixeira (d, perc), Doug James (sax) and Scott Aruda (t) to bring us some soulfully funky blues. He opens with “It’s A Shame” including Duke Robillard (g). Duke shows up on four other tunes as well! Walker wrote half of the tunes and selected the balance to fit into his theme. Shamekia Copeland joins Joe leading the vocals on “Lover’s Holiday”. “Highview” cooks with Katz making the organ sing while Duke and Joe have a guitar duel. Other highlights are “Sugar Mama” and “Hustlin'”.


Publicist: Mark Pucci Media