Fujii, Satoko

Tokuma, 2004CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 10.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Avant Garde
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 3
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: The quartet is Natsuki Tamura (t), Tekeharu Hayakawa (b), Tatsuya Yoshida (d, voice) and leader Fujii on piano. She composed all seven pieces, an eclectic set that allows each of the musicians to extend their boundaries into free form solos around simple beats. The set culminates with “15 Minutes to Get to the Station” a piece with random thoughts organized around a central beat including vocal prints. This song takes your mind on a journey that includes multiple thoughts that use tempo changes for transitions. If you can engage, you can feel the essence of what free jazz is all about.