Presgrave, Linda

Metropolitan, 2015CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 21.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Bebop
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Pianist and composer Linda Presgrave leads her band through eleven modern jazz compositions, ten of which are originals. Bassist Harvie S does a fine job anchoring each of the selections with drummer Allison Miller. Stan Chovnick (soprano), Vincent Herring (tenor) and Todd Herbert (alto) split sax duties sharing melodies with Linda. The program is divided into two suites inspired by travels in France and Asia and capped by Chovnick’s “Universal Freedom”. The entire session is rich with warm melodies and good feelings making Along the Path one of Presgrave’s best outings yet!


Publicist: Jazz Promo Services