Monteiro, Marcus

Whaling City Sound, 2017CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 23.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Swing
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Saxophonist Marcus Monteiro grew up on the groove of Maceo Parker and eventually developed his own voice that is centered on the side of traditional jazz. He assembles a quartet with John Harrison, III (p), Fernando Huergo (b) and Steve Langone (d). They open up swinging on “Sister Sodie” setting the stage for an upbeat session. Monteiro breathes warm melodies alongside of graceful piano solos to make ballads like “Adagio” and “Wait Till You See Her” resonate balancing out the session. We also enjoyed the cooler vibe on “Another Part of Me” featuring guest pianist Nick Sanfilippo.


Publicist: Mixed Media Promo