Irwin, Aaron

Fresh New Sound, 2008CD
Instrument: Saxophone

Issue: 14.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Swing
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Aaron (as) leads a quintet with Ben Monder (g), Matt Clohesy (b) Ferenc Nemeth (d) and Chris Cheek (ts). They play nine songs; all written by Irwin except the cool cover of “From This Moment On”. “Like The Sunshine” swings nicely followed by “The Wizard”, a tune with mild Latin flavors and a catchy bridge. There is a happy-go-lucky feel on “Back To You” with Monder contributing a lazy, warm solo He switches to his fusion hat for “Little Hurts”. But Aaron shines with his fluid melodies on alto sax throughout the set especially on “Until We Say Goodbye” featuring complementary violin from Eliza Cho setting the mood. Variety and warmth make this relaxing session shine.


Publicist: Braithwaite & Katz