Alpern, Wayne

Henri Elkan Music, 2021CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 27.4

Jazz Ruler Type: BigBand
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 81
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Arranger and producer Wayne Alpert celebrates a recreation of classic pop and jazz tunes on  Frankenstein, his latest release. He enlists a fine cast including David Mann (reeds), John Patitucci (b), Kevin Ramessar (g), Clint de Ganon (d) with trumpeters Tatum Greenblatt & Brad Mason and trombonists Mike Boscarino & Mike Davis. “Cantaloupe Island”, “Send In The Clowns” and “Let’s Stay Together” are some of our favorites along with “Dancing In The Streets” featuring a funky bass line and crisp horns. The interspersed rap and vocals by Cole The VII, Paranoah and Voiceofanation impart an edgy, urban vibe into the mix. They balance the set with a soothing take of “All I Ask Of You” for just over 48 minutes of fun.


Publicist: Kari-On Productions