Canadian Jazz Collective

HGBS Blue, 2023CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 29.2

Jazz Ruler Type: BigBand
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 78
Score Chart

O’s Notes: The Canadian Jazz Collective is a septet featuring composers Derrick Gardner (t, flugelhorn), Lorne Lofsky (g) and Kirk MacDonald (t-sax) with Virginia MacDonald (cl), Brian Dickinson (p), Neil Swainson (b), and Bern Reiter (d). Gardner takes center stage on “Dig That” with help from MacDonald. Lofsky swings on “Highway 9” and adds a compelling solo on “Terre De DuSable”. We are also keen on “Shadows” and “Silent Voices”.


Publicist: Lydia Liebman Promotions