Firey String Sistas

Firey String Sistas, 2017CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 22.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Swing
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Firey String Sistas is a 5-piece chamber jazz ensemble with Nioka Workman (cello, vocals, perc), Marlene Rice (violin, vocals, perc), Melissa Slocum (b), Mala Waldron (p, vocals, perc) and Karina Colin (d, perc). They have a cool approach that is more vibrant than the traditional chamber jazz quintet. They’ve got just the right amount of swing and Bluegrass with lots of plucking, bowing and singing to make this a rewarding session. Highlights are “Ellie”, “T’Aincy Blues”, “Fantasy” and “Castle In The Sky”.


Publicist: Two for the Show Media