Sanlikol, Mehmet Ali

Dünya, 2020CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 27.4

Jazz Ruler Type: BigBand
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score: 81
Score Chart

O’s Notes: Jazz pianist, composer and band leader Mehmet Ali Sanlikol has been making his presence known ever since his storied debut at Carnegie Hall in 2016. His latest work, The Rise Up consists of Stories of Strife, Struggle and Inspiration. This jazz orchestra is conducted by Ken Schaphorst and features saxophonist Dave Liebman. We enjoyed the powerful and symphonic rendition of this session specifically, on “A Vicious Murder”, “Spain 1492” and “Tammuz” in a session that could easily be a movie score. It’s enjoyable and engaging.


Publicist: Lydia Liebman Promotions