Marsalis, Branford

Sony Okeh, 2018CD
Instrument: SAXOPHONE

Issue: 25.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Swing
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Composer, veteran saxophonist Branford Marsalis assembles his quartet, a polished unit that has worked together for over 20 years, with pianist Joey Calderazzo, bassist Eric Revis and drummer Justin Faulkner. Calderazzo does an excellent job on the “Conversation Among the Ruins” before Brantford gets into the swing of it on “Snake Hip Waltz”. Joey is back again on “The Windup” playing with a youthful exuberance that defies logic. Branford defines versatility and does so with aplomb on“The Secret Between The Shadow And The Soul.


Publicist: D. L. Media