Sadownick, Daniel

Nasdan Music, 2009CD
Instrument: Drums

Issue: 15.2

Jazz Ruler Type: Latin
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 5
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Having a percussionist lead the band is not common but Sadonick makes it appreciated as he composed, arranges, produces and performs these nine compositions. He plays in various configurations ranging from solo to quintet. Scott Colley (b), Rob Bargad (p), Daniel Freedman (d) and Joe Magnatelli (t) are among the fine musicians accompanying him. The music is also creative with the mysterious vibe of “A Kiss That Whispers”, the bouncy “Bronx Bop” and the liquid smooth groove of “Paths”. Dan plays both bass and percussion on the funky “Urban Scene”, a solo effort. Vocalist Morley Kamen joins him for a duet on “Steady”, ‘a prayer for within’. Daniel’s work on the congas adds pop and sizzle without dominating the landscape. He is a new face on the jazz scene with a lot to say. We will continue to listen and enjoy his message!


Publicist: Powderfinger Promotions