Prieto, Dafnis

Dafnison Music, 2015CD
Instrument: Drums

Issue: 21.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Latin
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Drummer Dafnis Prieto assembles a vibrant sextet that includes world-class musicians Johannes Weidenmueller on bass and pianist Manuel Valera. They strut their stuff immediately on the opener “Back and Forth”, a strong hint of what follows! “Blah, Blah, Blah” and “Blah, Blah” are much deeper than their titles suggest and two other highlights in a strong set. Mike Rodriguez does fine work on trumpet along with Felipe Lamoglia on alto sax. The genre is contemporary Latin jazz-fusion. Prieto composed all of the music and infuses crisp accents throughout the set working his set from all angles.


Publicist: Two for the Show Media