Figueroa, Sammy

Senator, 2011CD
Instrument: Drums

Issue: 17.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Latin
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Percussionist Sammy Figueroa leads a sextet in an energetic set of nine selections. Pianist Silvano Monasterios or bassist Gabriel Vivas wrote six of the selections. Guest pianist Mike Orta wrote “Latin What?” that also features a guest appearance from Ed Calle (sax). We also enjoyed the swinging Latin vibe of “7th Door To Your Left” and the calypso beats on “Cuco y Olga” & “Cha Cha Pa’ Ti”. “Queen From The South” is the lone ballad in this dance ready package!


Publicist: D. L. Media