Chestnut, Cyrus

High Note, 2018CD
Instrument: Piano

Issue: 24.3

Jazz Ruler Type: Classic
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: Pianist Cyrus Chestnut returns to the trio format after performing as a quartet on his last outing“There’s A Sweet Sweet Spirit“(4/3). Today’s band is his touring trio from last year including bassist Eric Wheeler and drummer Chris Beck. Chestnut continues to provide a swinging groove with spiritual infusions now and then. But on“Kaleidoscope,“he takes us into pop/rock space with “Smoke on the Water” and even more so into classical space reinterpreting Debussy, Mozart and Satie. The net effect is very positive as these interpretations all have Chestnut’s fingerprints. It will certainly be delightful for Chestnut fans both old and new.


Publicist: Jazz Depot