Ellington, Duke

High Note, 2009CD

Issue: 15.4

Jazz Ruler Type: Classic
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 4
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: High Note put together a Composer Collection Series that honors legendary jazz artists. Each features the works of a specific artist performed by current musicians. This third volume focuses on gems from the Duke Ellington Songbook. It starts with “Do Nothing ‘Til You Hear From Me” featuring Houston Person (sax). That is followed by Richard Wyands (p) with a spirited rendition of “Drop Me off In Harlem” in a trio format. James Spaulding delivers a rich version of “Warm Valley”. Sheila Jordan sings “Mood Indigo” and Mark Murphy sings “In A Sentimental Mood”. We liked Teddy Edwards on Sax on “All Too Soon” in a very good sampling of Duke!


Publicist: Jazz Depot