Brooklyn Jazz Underground

BJU Records, 2007CD
Instrument: Instrumental

Issue: 15.1

Jazz Ruler Type: Classic
O's Jazz Ruler

Performance: 4
Performance Chart

Sound: 3
Sound Chart

Score Chart

O’s Notes: BJU records releases their third sampler featuring a talented group of musicians. They tip the Jazz Ruler more towards free jazz with “Raised By Deer” – Tanya Kalmanovich & Doug Yates and “Cachuma” – Bernard/Elmer/Lackner/Ferber. There is also “Pink City” from Sunny Jain and an excellent cover of “Body and Soul” by Jerome Sabbagh (sax) with Ben Street (b) and Rodney Green (d). Dan Pratt is cooking on “Toe The Line” and Alan Ferber/David Biney leaves relaxed and fully appreciative with the finalé “Paris”. This is a very good introduction to BJU artists.


Publicist: Red Cat Publicity